DIY: Vision Board for Goal-Reaching

Today I wanted to share a DIY I made almost 2 summers ago. The reason I wanted to share now was because after taking it out of its storage, I was shocked to see that 3/4 of it had already happened! At the time I was creating these goals of mine and placing them in visual context I had no idea they would actually be accomplished within that short time frame. All I knew was exactly what I wanted in my life, but had little knowledge then as to what the “law of attraction” was.

As of now, I have started traveling to places I only saw behind screens, graduated from university, worked towards my savings/minimalism goals and met the man of my dreams. My health goal is yet to be reached, but I feel that one will take the most dedication and time to accomplish, which I know is something I really need to commit to because as the saying goes, “without health there is no wealth.”

What I do want to make clear is that simply creating a vision board will not bring you the accomplishments or abundance you desire. There needs to be work behind it. I believe much of what a vision board is is the clear and focused attention of the life you want with your goals working behind your subconscious. I hope to share some vision board inspiration with you and show you how I created mine from simple items.

Supplies you will need:

  • Stack of magazines (I picked these up for free from a local buy/sell app!)
  • Scissors
  • Glue stick
  • Tape
  • Ribbon (I used a ribbon handle I cut off from a gift bag)
  • Poster board or foam board

The sections I divided by (from top to bottom):

  1. Travel/Lifestyle
  2. Education/Career/Finances
  3. Love
  4. Health

Instructions:

  1. Start by jotting down your goals and ideas of what that looks like to you.
  2. Then go flipping through all of your magazines and cut out anything that matches that description, or even just colorful images that connect to your goals in some way.
  3. Next arrange and rearrange your cut outs to how you like. This may be in sections like mine or can simply be random. Don’t be afraid to overlap and recut images to fit your board. Have fun with it and play motivational music!
  4. Now glue down your final layout and let dry. On the back, tape your ribbon to hang on your wall, or add magnets if placing on fridge.
  5. TIP: Place it somewhere easily visible that you will look at daily, whether that is in your bedroom, closet, office or even fridge.

20 thoughts on “DIY: Vision Board for Goal-Reaching

  1. I love this idea so much! I’ve seen this idea before but yours looks so amazing I think I might actually want to try it for myself now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I put my own spin on it and cut the poster board in half, then divided it into sections for each goal. Glad you like it 🙂

      Like

  2. sardineoutofwater May 12, 2018 — 1:26 pm

    Great idea! It’s good to have a visual reminder of what we want to achieve so that we keep pushing 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I completely agree, it’s motivational 🙂

      Like

  3. Awesome and very inspiring creative work!!! Great that you have already achieved most of the things that you wanted too. It is a good reminder of what you/we want to achieve but I also thing its a good reminder of what you have achieved. What I mean is that sometimes I can beat myself up by thinking I have not done anything by achieving my goals but by having a visual reminder I can actually see I have achieve , which then motivates and encourages me on. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you 🙂 I never really thought about it that way, but that is a great point and perspective to have. I do the same also…so this was good to hear from someone else, because once we accomplish our goals we may forget them and feel like we need new ones then. Thanks for the read!

      Like

  4. This is a really cool idea. I think I need to implement some sort of board for my goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, the cool thing about it is that everyone’s board will look different no matter what…even if goals are similar. Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is awesome! Thanks for the idea–I’m going to need to try this too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Sweet, gl and have fun with it 🙂

      Like

  6. I too love vision boards and do one very month for my life and business!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s dedication! I need to do a new one soon, I think it keeps us focused and on track when they are makes often. Making separate ones for the different areas of your life sounds even better.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This is such a great idea!! My daughter and I are definitely going to try this! Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! Yayy, you two enjoy creating it together 🙂

      Like

  8. Great post. I absolutely resonated when you mentioned that making the board was work being done on setting your goals – even the subconscious ones. Maybe its a kind of a contract you make with yourself- instead of writing the “if you don’t and if you do” contract language- you commit your self to your own goals by using such a colorful and happy language – that inspires you to achieve those goals. Big like on the diy part and the beautiful result.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I agree, sometimes visuals help make that connection stronger because we can picture ourselves actually living it over just words written down. Thanks for the read and glad to inspire 🙂

      Like

  9. Congratulations on reaching your goals. A you re-doing your board?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I will be redoing it once I reach my last goal, it’s great to do these every few years I think as we change and accomplish our goals 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close