1-Week Spring Deep Clean Checklist Challenge

masaaki-komori-597700-unsplash

Summer is right around the corner! It feels like spring is flying by, especially in SoCal where it is as if winter went straight into summer. I wanted to give my bedroom one good deep clean, but only focus on one short task each day. So I came up with this little system or challenge to spring clean places that often get overlooked with regular cleaning (sweep, mopping, etc.). Here is a week of daily tasks to get your space looking refreshed:

  1. Day 1: Dust baseboards with a dryer sheet, go around perimeter of room wiping the board…you’ll be surprised to see how much dust it picks up.
  2. Day 2: Vacuum inside closet floor and door rail if you have one
  3. Day 3: Dust top of fan, ceiling air vents, and any other ceiling fixtures
  4. Day 4: Vacuum window sill area, dust blinds, wipe window glass…I never knew how much dust and even a dead bug or two could go unnoticed.
  5. Day 5: Vacuum mattress, flip over, and vacuum sides of bed frames…I found so much dust on the corners, so this place often gets overlooked.
  6. Day 6: Dust/clean all wall art and anything hanging…such as canvas pieces, wall decor, frames, spot clean tapestries, etc. I used a dryer sheet again to get all the dust off.
  7. Day 7: Go through all furniture and wipe tops, sides, and even behind to get all the gunk off. Dressers, bed frames, desks, bookshelves, etc.

I hope this list could give you ideas or some “cleaning motivation”! Do you prefer to do a daily cleaning chore or just do it all in one go?

7 thoughts on “1-Week Spring Deep Clean Checklist Challenge

  1. I’m definitely an “all-in-one” kind of person. Once I start something I just want to see it through! I always start small, and these are good tips to get the start going. That’s usually the hardest part for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I think the all in one approach to cleaning or even doing decluttering is the most productive way, that way we don’t forget. For example, with the minimalist game and decluttering one item for day one, two for day two, etc. a person might give up.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. laurelbledsoe May 19, 2018 — 6:48 pm

    What a great list of areas that do get overlooked…or passed by in our cleaning routines. When we leave a newly renovated project, the space is spotless and doing these things weekly can keep it that way!-littleblackdomicile.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i’m more for all-in-one regular cleaning – i get it all done every sunday. dusting, vacuuming, changing sheets & towels, laundry, and even a little decluttering.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see how that is good too, to just get everything out of the way so you can focus on other things 🙂 I’ll have to try it one day too!

      Like

  4. Like the words “deep clean”. Don’t think i have ever heard that concerning cleaning, tidying, de clutter etc. but I do like it and am already thinking about how I can apply “deep clean” to other areas of my life. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close